Letter Bb week

There is fun to be had at Little Friends Discovery Place!
Yes, I named my preschool/daycare.
Admittedly, I have had several people lately ask how I can “do it all”,
with homeschooling, childcare, and doing a preschool co op in my home.
My response?  “Are you kidding?  I get to play all day!”
All kidding aside, I do believe it is a matter of attitude.
Simply said, I enjoy what I do.

BEES

DSC_0760[1]

Honeycomb cereal to make a honey comb;
pretty fitting, right?

DSC_0770[1]

Next we tossed “pollen” into the honeycomb.
Admittedly, this was a late-night, last-minute idea
that just happened to be a success.

DSC_0763[1]

DSC_0771[1]

Then we played pin-the-bee on the hive.

DSC_0765[1]

We completed our BEE activities by singing
“I’m bringing home a baby bumblebee”

I think the COOL (unphotographed) part was that we actually had captured a bee in a jar for our lesson time.  Of course we set it free when we were done.
Also, netflix has a fun Magic School Bus In a Bee Hive episode that complimented our lesson for this day.

BIRDS

For story time we read “Are you My Mother?” by Dr Seuss

IMG_4692[1]

We made paper bag bird puppets, as well as pinecone bird feeders.

IMG_4686[1]

Our snack was to make a bird’s nest out of pretzels,
then lay the “eggs” (grapes) on the nest.

IMG_4687[1]

The kids really enjoyed playing with the bird seeds

IMG_4690[1]

which unintentionally became a really cool sensory bin,
bare feet and all!

Yeah, Bb week was pretty successful!

 

Leave a Reply

