To Explore Human Anatomy

DSC_0054[1]

Our 6 week study on Human Anatomy.

Week 1:  Skeletal System

DSC_1082[1]DSC_1072[1]

We learned about the major bones and their overall purpose and had the “quiz” via stick it notes, followed up with a fun snack.

IMG_4074

Week 2:  The Muscular System

IMG_4100IMG_4179[1]

IMG_4184[1] IMG_4190[1]

Hopscotch, jumping jacks, sweeping, talking/eating, push ups, stair climbs, and running laps in our woods!!!
I think their muscles have a good idea of the lesson at hand. Ha ha!

Week 3:  The Respiratory System

DSC_1356[1]DSC_1357[1]

We used our lungs to paint lungs (aka straw painting);
played with balloons, bubbles, and ran in place… all ways to use their lungs.

Week 4:  The Digestive System

IMG_4166[1]IMG_4167[1]IMG_4245[1]
Playdough intestines, a snack lesson on food traveling through the intestines, and labeling all the parts for an art assignment.

Week 5:  The Heart

DSC_0043[1]DSC_0044[1]
Learned all about how the heart pumps the blood as well as created our own “pumping” heart beat.  Fun stuff!

Week 6:  The Brain

DSC_0053[1]

It was interesting to explore what parts of the brains functioned what area of our lives.
We had limited activities for this one, but a lot of discussions none-the-less.

Other fun resources:

Children’s Human Body Encyclopedia

Magic School Bus Flexes its Muscles  (Season 2, Episode 2) –
covers bones, muscles, joints, and tendons

Magic School Bus Works Out (Season 3, Episode 9)-
all about lungs

Magic School Bus For Lunch (Season 1, Episode 2)-
digestive system

Magic School Bus Goes Cellular (Season 4, Episode 5)

and of course Pinterest!

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.
How precious to me are your thoughts,[a] God!
    How vast is the sum of them!
Were I to count them,
    they would outnumber the grains of sand—
    when I awake, I am still with you.
Psalm 139: 14-18

Leave a comment