Takin’ Care of Mama- One Simple Step

It’s been awhile since I’ve shared any fitness/health/spiritual goals or accomplishes.
Well, that would be because I haven’t really had any goals or accomplishments.

I’ve been working on One Simple Step…

only it isn’t so simple.  It’s been actually quite difficult, and I find that it still sucks.  ha!

What is my challenge?  My goal, so to speak?
To quit drinking Diet Coke.   Not only Diet Coke, but all artificial sweeteners.
Everyone says how bad it is for you.  Yeah, and I do the research, so I can’t really ignore the truth.  So, after 36 years, I’m giving it an honest effort.  It’s been over 3 months since saying good bye to my favorite drink… only, it doesn’t stop there.  After all, my next “go to” drink is ice tea… with yep, artificial sweetener.  It’s just not the same w/o it, but I go with out it anyways.  Then I have to give up flavored waters and the like.  This is totally boring.

Then there is the “energy” issue.  Yep, I have felt like a slug for over 3 months.  Surely one can get peppy w/o caffeine right?  After all, 32 oz of Diet Coke a day definitely kept me going.  Then I had an “ah ha” moment.  I am not quitting caffeine, just the artificial sweeteners… so now it’s Yay for me…

Here is how I am starting my days…

IMG_3710[1]

Candle light and Scripture…
and healthy coffee w/ a splash of peppermint!
Mmmmm…. just perfect enough to get my day going.

2 thoughts on “Takin’ Care of Mama- One Simple Step

  1. Have you considered taking vitamin D drops? Winter is never my best time, so I’ve started taking those. It might be worth looking in to. 🙂

    1. wow, totally worth looking into. I’ve heard (the hype, ha ha) about them. It’s definitely been a more blah like winter, very not myself. I understand the detox process of chemicals (artificial sweeteners in my case) but sheesh, mom’s can’t slow down. Tired is not an option around here. Thanks for your suggestion Kristen. miss you much!

Leave a Reply

