Our Back to School Basics~ week 1

Building a rhythm:

I really wanted to slowly develop our days.
I kept things simple this week,
with the intent to guide my self-led learners
while building a routine for the littles.

IMG_2732[1]

The older kids simply did math, and read history and science.
The younger kids worked on random math facts, phonics review, and reading lessons.

Dare I say it was… peaceful?!

IMG_2733[1]

The senior student would get up early with the puppy…
do his math and reading,
and then go outside to play, er do recess with the 1st grader.

IMG_2563[1]

The first grader then got the wiggles out to focus on his reading lesson in the afternoons.

IMG_2704[1]

IMG_2705[1]   IMG_2706[1]

This was using the How to Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons.
Last year my youngest was anti-school, lol, so I “compromised”  *wink, wink*
He has his “sounds of the day”,
his “words of the day”,
and his “story of the day”.
Obviously, it is just the lesson from the book, but I am not telling him that!
For his writing last year he was like a crazy perfectionist who melted down at every letter,
so I decided he could trace for now.  Highlighters work well for that!

Admittedly, I was a bit concerned to take 2 months off for a summer break.
I felt like my youngest should probably maintain some form of structure,
and my 9 year old had just begun to read fluently.  I didn’t want to lose ground.
However, we took the much needed break, and much to my surprise,
the youngest is so much more focused now,
and the 9 yr old has picked back up with reading much more smoothly than before!

Extra-curricular:

Getting ready to line up a soccer season for TJ (17) and possibly Bryson (6),

IMG_2593[1]

while Katie-girl has decided to do a 30 day sketch challenge.
No lessons, just going by sight and a few suggestions from Nick’s girlfriend.

Homeschooling in the Woods

~has been so relaxing…
doing school on our front deck.
Birds chirping, a light breeze blowing,
siblings playing afterward…

I can’t help but close my eyes and whisper a ‘thank-you’ to our Good Lord above.

Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times and in every way. (May) the Lord be with all of you.
2 Thessalonians 3:16

Leave a Reply

