The School Room and More Books

Give and ye shall receive?

I went through my schoolroom this past spring.

I gifted my whole set of Abeka (Kindergarten through 6th grade) set to a new homeschooler in the community.  I don’t know them, I haven’t met them, but I did hear about their need.  So I boxed up 3 large boxes and sent my husband on the “surprise” drop off.

Then I heard about someone really desiring Sonlight for their 2 young boys (7 & 9).  I happened to have what they needed, so I boxed up 2 years worth of books and sent them on their way.

Next was someone who needed leggos; yep, we have an overabundance, so we shared!

These are things that a person really could have made money on, but my heart really was to “bless it forward”…

SO….

imagine my surprise when I became the recipient of a gift of BOOKS!

IMG_2096[1]

8 boxes of classic literature, history novels, nature books, and more!

I received (I do believe!) just about the whole entire set of
American Landmark series-
The Landmark Books are a series of non-fiction books published by Random House in the fifties and early sixties.
Simply put, the Landmark series is the best collection of children’s histories ever written. ~ Exodus books

My cousin and his wife have finished homeschooling their daughter and, like I mentioned above, wanted to “bless it forward”.
Thank you D.T. & Leola!  I am SO excited!! 
People have joked about me having my own library, however, I now believe I just about do!  *smile*

Here’s our SCHOOLROOM:

IMG_2138[1]

All those cubbies on the right contain classic literature and history books.
-below is a small view of them.

IMG_2135[1]

Then we have readers.
These shelves are more for *free* reading interests.

IMG_2145[1]

Thus they fit nicely in our reading area.
We use the cork board for weekly themes for the week,
such as life cycle of a frog, spring trees, farm life, etc.
We actually put a daily craft on there to make a mural by the end of the week.
Schools out, so obviously it’s a little blank right now.

IMG_2149[1]

Next is our nature and science shelves!

DSCN3957[1]

…along with our nature observation window.

DSCN3960[1]

I also have a small bookshelf for early readers.

DSCN3964[1]

Here is the angle of the classroom from the reading area.
It gives a better view of all the history books too.

IMG_2137[1]

We add a small white board to the top of the bookshelf for Spanish/French lessons.  Since we are officially on summer vacation, it is a great time to review and get the younger kids to learn more.

IMG_2151[1]

And to utilize space, I put the older kids workboxes by the wood stove.
It works for now.

DSCN3959[1]

Yes, technically, our schoolroom is really what is suppose to be a living room, but hey, I’m living the dream…
I’m homeschooling my kids,
I have my own library,
and we have nature in our backyard.

Life is good, and I feel blessed!

 Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” ~ Luke 6:38

7 thoughts on “The School Room and More Books

  1. I love these types of stories! Yes, Give and it will be given to you! Such a beautiful space…inspiring! Thanks for sharing this wonderful post! ~Blessings~

  2. I love your bookshelves. My hubby has agreed to build some for me, but I was thinking if I purchased them, it might be easier for him. Can you tell me anything about the cubbies? Like where you bought them or if you built them. Thanks!

    1. We got ours from Fred Meyers, and are also available at IKEA. They are sturdy and versatile. However, if your husband is willing to make bookshelves, it would probably be more efficient for books ie fitting more books in a row. Plus a homemade bookshelf could potentially take up less space if custom made to fit specific books you have on hand (by the shelves not being as deep if not necessary). I admire your husbands willingness. =) Over all, I am a cubby addict and use them for books, shoes, toys, craft supplies, etc…

Leave a Reply

