Motherhood~ Being Called to Serve

I am a stay-at-home mom.

That is my ministry.

I have been called to serve.

IMG_0563[1]

It’s not always easy…

but it is always worth it!

What does my ministry look like?

Well, all my (6) kids are spread out; 5, 8, 12, 16, 20, & 24.

The role as mom is in a different place for each one of them.

At this point, for my oldest 2, I am the mentor. 
Although each one is at a different place in life…
one a newly wed; the other beginning a new career;
they both matter to me.
My role as mom becomes scaled back some in responsibility,
but is still very much relational.  I am still mom,
and they are free to make their own choices,
and I am there for them when they need me.

For my middles, I am a guidance counselor.
They are now old enough to think for themselves,
but I continue to be there for them,
giving them purpose and direction when needed.
I am open to let them make their own choices,
and I am there to make suggestions when I see fit to do so.

And for my littles, I am the nurturer.
I am to care for them, look after them,
I am to cultivate their individual personalities.
I provide choices and give them room to grow,
and I am there to reassure and comfort them as needed.

The role as MOM does not stop there.  This is where my ministry is just beginning.

God has given me a heart for ALL children.
I most certainly see my own children as precious gifts that I treasure so very much.
Yet all children are valuable; from toddlers to teens, and yes even into adulthood!

I have teens that I am called to reach out to… and I do.
I think I surprise them at times, but they let me into their space in life.
Sometimes those teens live with us for a season,
sometimes I get the opportunity to mentor them,
and sometimes I just love on them just where they are.

I am called to teach littles, beyond just my own.
From my home-based preschool class to homeschool co op to Sunday school to Wed. Stepping Stone class…
I get the privilege of hanging out with a lot of 2-5 yr olds!
I call them my “friends” and they just melt my heart!

Then there is the kids in between, 6-12.  They are fun.
The ones who are eager to talk, share, laugh, be goofy, and talk some more…
I don’t have a specific calling to this age currently, but I enjoy the ones who are in my life right now.
They make me smile.  =)

And here is a newer part of my ministry as a MOM…

…helping other moms!!

And who knew how blessed I would be to encourage other mama’s in their own journey as a mom?!
The joy and love and blessings that come from reaching out to help others; that is priceless indeed!
I do not have all the answers, but what I do know about parenting I that am so willing to share…

discipline
schedules
learning disabilities
education
communication
sibling conflicts
organization
creative activities
etc…

and in turn, I continue to learn so much more myself,
as these young mama’s share the things that they are gifted at with me.

health
nutrition
culture
cooking
gardening
acceptance
etc…

Yes, I am being called to serve.
It is a never ending process…
and I am grateful for that!

2 thoughts on “Motherhood~ Being Called to Serve

  1. I am grateful for you! You are such an encouragement to me and how to parent; patience; loving my little ones; showing the Christ… My kids are also blessed by you! Grateful the Lord has put you in my life!

Leave a Reply

