Do You Feel Beautiful?

Am I the only one who struggles with beauty?

Not the obvious wish I was prettier…
wish I was thinner…
wish I had thicker, longer hair…
wish I had straighter teeth…

Not the world’s standard of beauty per se,
but that inner feeling of beauty.

Does that even make sense?

I often tell my daughter that…

Beauty is what beauty does.

and my heart yearns to help, encourage, lift up, comfort others…

to let them feel loved just for being who they are!

That their unique self has been created for His purpose,
which is to just simply be who He designed them to be.

But that is where the catch is…

I cannot see that in myself.  It is quite a struggle really.  One that I often ignore.
Frankly, it is awkward to even talk about it…
but if I want others to see the beauty in themselves that I see,
then at some point I need to see that beauty for myself.

Then I pray…

for His forgiveness that I don’t think I am “enough”.
for me to see what He sees in me.
for encouragement.

And this week I get this…

A nonchalant remark from someone’s facebook status:  
If you could see yourself, just for a day, you’d see what everyone else sees. And my gosh, you’re beautiful.”
Now grant it that it wasn’t to me directly, but it whispered the message to me anyways.

followed by this facebook status by another precious friend…

I read a quote this morning and it got me thinking. Why do we say we aren’t beautiful? In whose opinion? Another man or woman? God created you and God creates beauty. He does not create ugly. If you were to look at a sunset in Bora Bora you will most likely say it is absolutely beautiful. If someone were to say it is ugly you would be upset and argue with them. So tell me? Why are you not as beautiful as that sunset? You are. You are absolutely stunning. Just because one person says you aren’t, doesn’t mean it’s not so. I have dated men who have told me I’m not pretty enough. I owned their words. I’m sure many of you have done the very same thing. Owned words that someone has said to you. Those aren’t your words. They are one person’s opinion. It’s an opinion. Not a truth. Look in your mirror. What do you see? You are God’s creation. You were not put together with Lego’s. You were created by the ultimate artist. Don’t criticize His work. Put it on your mirror to see daily. “I am God’s creation and I am beautiful”.

and then there is this lovely message going viral on facebook too…

Who You Are

…because we are worthy.

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;  your works are wonderful,I know that full well.
Psalm 139:14

“Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”
1 Peter 3:4

One thought on “Do You Feel Beautiful?

  1. i think the amazing thing about how you feel towards yourself, is that just the fact alone that you long to help and encourage others, that IS THE BEAUTY that you feel like you cant see..your loving, teaching, nurturing, spirit is unique and i covet a heart that reaches out to others like that…

Leave a Reply

