History Curriculums~

Did you like history as a child?

I didn’t.  I was quite ignorant on the whole subject.  I mean, after all, the people are dead.  Why do I want to know about them?  I want to know about now.

Yes, that was my teenage selfish mentality.

Now?  I hope I am much wiser.  I hope that I can help my kids see the importance of history!

Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it. 
~George Santayana

The more we have dug into history as homeschoolers, the more I am aware of how much I don’t want us as a society to repeat!

We lose sight of why the things we take for granted today was so worth the battle then!

(I am linking up to share our history thoughts with Highhill Education).

Curriculum-

Text books are obvious… but boring.  really, they are.

Unit Studies has to be the most hands on fun ever!
One of my favorite resources for this style is:
Homeschool in the woods.

The benefits of Unit Studies:
Makes history fun.
Learn a variety of subjects while studying history; such as writing, cooking, crafts, math, science, etc..
Is adaptable for all ages, thus one curriculum, multiple ages allowed.

DSC_0687

What we currently use for History

Living books.  We use history biographies from the RC book list.
I consider these “original source texts”, meaning it is written far enough back in history to have not been watered down for convenience or agendas.

The benefits of Biographies:
Makes history come alive.
Learn a variety of subjects including social studies, geography, health, and cultural awareness (to name just a few).
Gives details rather than quick facts.
All ages can listen in.

An example:

Christopher Columbus-
It’s not just about the history facts,
but includes character traits such as reaching for your dreams (Christopher wanting to discover new land),
the struggles (getting a country to finance that dream),
peer pressure (being a Godly man with a cruel and sinful crew),
and having cultural awareness
(learning about the Indians life style),
mental health (struggled with depression),
and mapping out (geography) the journey these great men took would include oceans and continents.
You also hear about the end of the story.  How Columbus died.  It is complete learning.
Life of George Washington-
This book would cover reading, U.S. History, & government. .
Science could also come from this book as you will learn about the terrain (geology) and their most difficult winters (meteorology).  
Health is covered by reading about wounds & illnesses.
The book also teaches about strategy and critical thinking skills.
You could have your student map out the journey state to state, taking note of rivers and such to include U.S.geography.
I personally, have learned so much more about our history from our family read alouds now than I ever did in my 12 yrs of schooling.
Here is just a couple of books we will be reading this year:
DSC_0689
We are actually starting with Benjamin Franklin and moving ourselves forward chronologically.
Doing this as a family read aloud after lunch is relaxing.
It also brings up good conversations at our dinner table.
There is so much history in our world!!
What favorite history time era fascinates you?
3 thoughts on “History Curriculums~

  1. I think the Victorian era interests me the most. Very fascinating (and probably one of the most peaceful Europe had experienced in a long time).
    Great ideas; we really like unit studies. I am going with a “formal” textbook this year for our outline, but mixing it up with my own activities and hands-on opportunities. It looks to be a very fun year!
    Thanks for sharing these awesome ideas! 🙂

  2. I listened to what you said about biographies. We tend to skip by them as they aren’t usually the first choice of my daughter, but I think you’re right and maybe we’ll try a few this year. When we study India I know there will be some great ones to choose from.

  3. We have lots in common in the way we do history (including reading aloud after lunch!). Unit studies are great, aren’t they? We are so blessed to be able to learn history alongside our children using living books instead of textbooks.
    Lucinda

Leave a Reply

