Chores as a Blessing?

So here’s the deal…

Cleaning is NOT about me (or you).

Martyr Mom Syndrome is not a pretty thing.  Ask me, I know.  *wink*  We go, go, go. and do, do, do.  We want things perfect, our way, and we have this silent.in.our.head.understanding that others around us should just “know” what should be done, how it should be done (which is usually “my” way), and should see and appreciate all that we do in the process.  Guess what?  it’s not about me!  When I focus on all I am doing for others, I miss the opportunity to see what others are doing for me.

So my husband never does laundry.  I use to say NEVER, but he actually did some when I had surgery this past February.  The first time in 20+ years.  I am still amazed, lol.
He doesn’t make the bed, pick up his laundry but once in a rare season, or wipe up his toothpaste mess.  This could drive me crazy!!  (and sometimes does)

So do I want to play the martyr and nag about all that I do for him?
OR
Do I appreciate what really matters to me instead?

Like:

…that he ALWAYS scrubs our big tub
and prepares a lovely bath for me when I request it. 
Often once a week; I call it my sanity time.

…that he ALWAYS scrubs up any barf or poop when needed.
animals or humans.

…that he ALWAYS plays with the kids when he gets home from work
so that I can get some things done that have to wait for my own free moment.

Cleaning is about who we can bless in the process,
while recognizing the blessing that is right in front of us.

Let’s face it.  Life gets messy and chaotic.  The more people in our lives, the more there is to juggle and do.  But would we want it any other way?  It’s all about perspective.

Dirty dishes = loved ones who joined us for a meal.  that meal led to fellowship.  and the ultimate blessing is that we HAD food to eat.  Thank you Jesus.

Laundry = loved ones in our home.  that for this beautiful season in our lives, get to be here.  and the ultimate blessings is that we are clothed.  Thank you Jesus.

Floors to Mop = loved ones who laugh and play in our home.  that run about the home enjoying each others presence.  and the ultimate blessings is that we don’t have dirt floors.  Thank you Jesus.

You see, when we are honored to do a service, we are ultimately thanking Jesus.

It’s about doing what needs to be done.

Do to others what you would have them do to you.  Matthew 7:12

Why do I do laundry?
because I know it is a blessing for my husband to simply get home from a hard days work, pull out some clean clothes, and take his shower.

Why do I clean toilets?
because I want a sanitized restroom area for all the tushes using it.

Why do I make the bed?
To have a tidy bed that invites relaxation.
is it me?  a mangled bed makes my brain go cross-eyed.

And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men.  Col 3:23

What can you do for your family today with a servant’s heart?

4 thoughts on “Chores as a Blessing?

  1. I recently had to remind my oldest (17) about dishes after he posted a complaint on Facebook. My conversation (reproof) was identical to what you posted above! So many times we look at something as a “curse” when, in all reality, it is only evidence of the many blessings He has bestowed upon us.

    Great post! Thank you!

  2. I so needed this post today! It put things back in perspective that I needed reminding of! I agree wholeheartedly and thank you!

Leave a Reply

