Takin’ Care of Mama~ truth is…

DSC_0129

Truth is…

I am struggling and celebrating all at one time.

I celebrate that it has been 9 years this month that I have been free from Bulimia.

for those readers who didn’t follow me from my other blog, here is a recap of my story:
Overcoming Personal Struggles

I struggle with still not being healthy.

I do not binge, nor purge anymore,
but what I do is not eat healthy;
quick, easy carbs is my usual staple.

I celebrate keeping 15 lbs off of the 25 lbs I lost last May.

I struggle with feeling like I am worth the effort of it all.

I celebrate being a survivor of childhood abuse.

I struggle with the negative tapes that replay in my head.

So I take a look at myself,
where I am at,
why I wanna be healthy,
and how on earth I am going to feel worthy enough to tackle this…

because what haunts me is the word… FAILURE.

Now mind you, that as a young lady (age 12) I had a “father” figure write dumb on my forehead and take a picture.  (if I knew how to scan it, I would show you, it really is sad).  34 yrs later and I feel like dumb has been replaced by failure.  Of course I know that is a lie from the enemy, but it is easily heard.

So once again, I begin my fitness journey.  I love working out, I enjoy eating healthy, and I adore spending time with my Lord (spiritual fitness, right?)…

I just have to convince myself I am worth the attention to do it.

Do you take the time to take care of yourself?
If so, how do you find time for it? 

10 thoughts on “Takin’ Care of Mama~ truth is…

  1. Oh Sheri, you make such a difference in my life every time I read your words. You are important and SO WORTH IT! I, too, struggle with keeping up with my healthy eating and fitness (both physical and spiritual). I want to start fresh tomorrow. I need to get back to those healthy changes! I will join you on your journey. Rejoice in your successes! I read several of them in this post!

    1. Yes, Nicole, Fresh tomorrow (not on Superbowl Sunday lol)… I would love for you to join me. Personally I think you are amazingly beautiful, but I know nutrition and fitness are necessary for us all. ;^) You make me smile.

  2. Thank you, thank you for your honesty. This makes me so angry. I want you to pick a new word! Pick “redeemed” or “free” or something. And replace that word on the photo! Take a sharpie and write directly over that forehead! I don’t know you, but I so deeply appreciate your posts and am so amazed at your homeschooling endeavors – I also homeschool but don’t think I could ever keep up with you. In a short blog comment I cannot convey what I would really like to, so I will simply say, “you go girl!” 🙂

  3. Oh how I wish we lived closer. I just want to give you a big hug, tell you that you are NOT a FAILURE . . . and then let you tell me the same thing. 🙂

    I was a pretty confident person until nearly 50 years old. So, to be labeled a FAILURE by those closest to you . . . after pouring my life into them for oh so many years . . . I know all about those words that replay over and over and over in our minds.

    I am just plain STUCK on my weight loss. After losing nearly 50 pounds in 5 months . . . I am still stuck at 50 pounds lost 2 months later, and it is REALLY getting me DOWN (in addition to all of the other JUNK that is keeping me DOWN).

    WE can DO THIS! We CAN get healthy. We CAN encourage and support one another even though we live a state apart. We CAN throw out the word FAILURE and replace it with Redeemed, Worthy, Loved . . .

    Let’s DO IT Dear Friend!!!

    Love & Hugs & Prayers headed your way . . .

    Laurel
    mama of 12

    1. Laurel,
      i love you. =)
      I am so grateful God put you in my life. Indeed, WE can with His grace. You may be feel stuck, but I am so very proud of you; you, my dear, are an inspiration as a mom, wife, friend, in weight loss, and most importantly, as a Christian. Keep shining, His glow looks good on you~

  4. Bless your heart. Your posts over at the RC yahoo group have been a continuing inspiration to me and my children aren’t even old enough for RC yet. Do you have photoshop or something similar? I think that word needs to photoshopped out. No need to replace it with anything else unless that would make you feel better. Just a beautiful 12-year old forehead just as you were. If I lived near you, I’d do it for you.

Leave a Reply

