L.I.F.E. Academy~ 2nd semester begins.

DSC_0034

A Rhythm to Our Days~

Our family does so much better when we stick to a routine.

You can even go as far as to say I am the schedule Queen.

But I can not let the schedule rule me,
so I have learned to be flexible.

After all, life happens.

So I list what is fairly predictable,
which helps me stay accountable for my time.

For all else, I use sticky notes for any weekly happenings that may be added.
An example:  I don’t normally work 3 days a week, but for this month I am,
so I sticky-noted the hours for friendly reminders to the family.

JANUARY GOALS

HISTORY:

New World Explorers- by Homeschool in the Woods.
It is a unit study which includes history, writing, cooking, crafts, experiments, etc…
The boys especially will enjoy the this topic;
pirates, ships, & navigation!

LITERATURE:

Treasure Island- as a family read aloud.
Seems fitting for our history topic at hand, eh?

TJ-
The Magician’s Nephew

Katie-
The Five Little Peppers and How They Grew.

Andrew-
The Big Blue Book of Beginners Book

*admittedly, these are all reads that we have begun in the past and simply did not ever get them completely read, so we begin again.  *smile*

AMERICAN GOVERNMENT

Amendments I-IV

FINE ARTS

Composer:
Antonio Vivaldi (yes again)- 4 seasons

Artist:
Caspar David Friedrich

Poetry:
Stopping by the Woods on a Snowy Evening~ Robert Frost (1923)

Nature Study:
Winter~ trees, skies, weather

SCIENCE

One element on the periodic table will be studied per week.  I will share the specific details in our weekly wrap ups.

MATH

TJ:  Surface areas of solids, celsius to fahrenheit, fahrenheit to celcius, & discussing absolute values.

Katie:  All about Division, & measurements. *we did not get this done last quarter, so here we go…again.

Andrew:  Basic Roman Numerals, telling time to the quarter-hour, all about $.

ELECTIVES:

Sign Language, Spanish, French~
focusing on the littles more with this,
so using the big kids to make it familiar in our surroundings.
Main lesson of the month; greetings, colors, numbers, food, & animals.

Survival Skills~
all about campfires.

We enjoyed our time off for the holidays, but we are ready to start living learning again…
anyone else looking forward to their normal routines?

5 thoughts on “L.I.F.E. Academy~ 2nd semester begins.

  1. Love your updates! You just amaze me. How do you plan? Do you take a day or afternoon to plan what you are going to do, gather the information, make copies etc..? Do you have a desk or office? I do not have a space, and it really makes a difference, because I work out of a bin and the end table next to the couch where I can sit at my lap top.

    1. Honestly? Every summer I ponder the big picture (subjects/what topics) so that I have an outline for the year. Each month takes a week-end (hours here and there) to plan out, which leaves me Sunday nights (the rest of the month) pulling stuff together. Hmmm, maybe I’ll do a post of what that looks like. My brain is a bit fried. Planning for so many age levels can make ones head spin, lol. ;^)

  2. I’m definitely looking forward to getting back to our routine! With Hubby having so many days off over the last few weeks because of the holiday, my little one’s nap time is all messed up and everyone is just out of sorts. Monday will bring a fresh new air! Love your printed schedule… so fun to look at!

  3. I love the calendar! Maybe I’ll try something like that, a little smaller as I don’t have much wall space. 🙂

    I am so bad at planning. I am more of an impromptu person. That is why a lot of curriculum don’t work for me and RC fits us well.

    BUT, by not planning, I sometimes feel so unorganized. Aack!

    I wish homeschoolinthewoods worked for us. My kids just never took to lapbooking. I guess we could have notebooked.

    We get back to a full day of studies next Tuesday. I am looking forward to it. It seems when the kids have too much free time, they don’t know what to do with themselves. They need a hobby. 🙂

Leave a Reply

