Takin’ Care of Mama~ the plateau

Plateau~ v.
to reach a state of little or no change after a time of activity or progress.

My plateau has been by choice.

The first month on this nutritional journey I dropped 22 lbs.

The second month, zero lbs.

By choice?  you may ask.

Yes, it is by choice.  A successful choice at that.

The normal cycle I do each and every year for the past 15 years is to lose (and gain) that same exact 20 lbs (even through 3 pregnancies).

This month I mark as success, not because of any big numbers, but because I am not sabotaging myself to gain again.  I need time to get comfortable in my own skin.  What really slowed down the progress was the lack of juicing that I had been doing.  I.know.that.

I needed time to figure out what clothes are fitting (for now),
for the attention from well meaning (and well loved) friends to subside,
for me to pray through some insecurities,
for my will to catch up to God’s purpose…

I am looking forward to embracing this 3rd month.  Fresh fruits and veggies are bountiful right now.  I love the long simple days of summer… a time to just be…

Let the juicing begin… again.  *smile*

 

7 thoughts on “Takin’ Care of Mama~ the plateau

  1. I have browsed your site and have a few comments:
    1. Good luck with your weightloss 🙂 It’s a tough battle for me.
    2. Thanks for sharing your experience with the homeschool convention. I think conferences/conventions are nice because it’s rejuvenating and exciting (can be), but thanks for sharing the other stuff as well.
    3. I enjoyed browsing your homeschooling articles. We’re going to start homeschooling this year or next year and I”m already feeling pretty overwhelmed. It’s nice to have such practical tips and advice from someone who’s doing it.
    4. No way do you look old enough to have a 23 year old child!

    1. Thanks for the compliment; it’s kind of interesting to know what it’s like to be the ‘young mama’ and the ‘old mama’, lol.
      Feel free to e-mail me if you have questions or ponderings about homeschooling. Trust me, there is no wrong way to do it (cept not to do anything). *smile* (sherihollinger@yahoo.com)
      btw, I find walking to be my favorite motivation for weightloss. It seems to always be my fall back thing to do. =)

  2. TODAY . . . i jumped back on the Takin’ Care of Mama plan. (Blog post to come soon.)

    I could definitely use prayer as I start a new meal plan, exercise routine, Bible reading plan. Thanks.

    WE can do it!!! Let’s encourage each other.

    🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

