A Slice of Humble Pie…

with a dash of grace sprinkled on top.

As a mom,

I have been around the block a few times.

I can clearly state a been there/done that with my kids.

I have gift of intuition that often hits the exact mark.

Communication is my key to successful parenting.

I make mistakes.

Our Nick is wrapping up his ‘gap’ year of having graduated last year and trying to figure out what he wants to do past this year…

…this spring he began a full-time landscaping job AND began courting a girl.   He also is finally able to use the family car after having his drivers license for 9 months first.

Can I say that Nick has always been the easy one?
The child of no temper tantrums,
even keeled,
prefers no drama,
does what he is asked,
has always stepped up to help…

and now he is stepping into a new range of freedom.
Borrowing the car,
staying out late,
making plans different than what the family is doing…
all a healthy growing process.

Until he stays out just a little bit later than I prefer,

or says he is headed out to dinner, only to be gone 9 hours…

…then the talk comes…

…the gentle reminder…

“If you want to be treated like an adult, remember to communicate like one

The ‘common courtesy‘ rule…
let others know what you are up to,
just like you would want to know what we are up to.

Can I just say it was well received.

Then yesterday he says he wants to head to the store for a soda…
an hour later texts me to say he is headed to a different store…
almost 2 hours later…  ?

So, I take a haughty approach the situation with a touch of sarcasm,
after all, I am not stupid, right? (wrong)

I send an abrupt and assuming text…
I know he is hanging out with his girlfriend, I get it already,
I don’t care for the evasive intent, blah, blah, blah…
and get no reply.

Shortly following, he saunters into the house WITH his 15 yr old brother!

*gasp* ~insert humble pie here~

Do you get this?

I assumed so little out of him,

I jumped to conclusions,

I used sharp words,

and he responded with grace and respect.

Did you catch the other end of this embarrassing moment?

My 15 yr old son was with him for 3 hours,

AND

I didn’t even realize he wasn’t here!  :^O

ok, so in itself would be not.such.a.big.deal…

cept…

he is our ‘feels invisible’ child.

Yeah, could someone pass me the milk so I can choke down this rather large piece of humble pie?

 

One thought on “A Slice of Humble Pie…

  1. Just want to let you know that . . . that could totally happen at our house, as well, with our 19 year old (and his 15 year old sister). Totally. 🙂

    There have been MANY times that I have ALMOST sent a similar text to our son this year . . . when I didn’t quite believe the story I was getting. But … I held my tongue. Still not sure where is he or who he’s with, but haven’t had to eat humble pie yet.

    Love ya!

    🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

